Ferrara, 31 March 2023

University of Ferrara




The second edition of the Moot Court Competition on the European Social Charter will take place at the University of Ferrara (Italy) on 31 March 2023, at the initiative of the Italian Section of ANESC.

This bilingual (French-English) competition is based on a fictitious collective complaint and includes a written phase and an oral phase. Participation in the competition is open to law students registered with a University. By drawing lots, half of the competing teams are given the status of “claimants” and the other half the status of “respondent government ».

The written phase consists of the drafting of a collective complaint (for “applicant” teams) or a memorandum (for “respondent government” teams). The oral phase consists of a mock “hearing” before the European Committee of Social Rights (represented by the juries), within the meaning of Article 7 (4) of the Protocol of 9 November 1995.


21 October 2022 – deadline for the registration of the teams at the following address:

10-11 Novembre 2022 – seminar in Ferrara on “The effectiveness of the European Social Charter and the decisions of the European Committee of Social Rights in the national legal orders“. The seminar is intended for legal practitioners as well as for students participating in the Competition. The programme is available here.

Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4

30 November 2022 – unveiling of the “case”

31 December 2022 – submission of questions to the Scientific Committee of the Competition at the following address:

6 March 2023 – submission of written collective complaint/memorandum at the following address:

31 March 2023 – oral phase in Ferrara


Applications should be submitted by 21 October 2022, using the form available here.


Download the rules here.

The members of the Scientific Committee are:
1.     Diana Balanescu (Council of Europe)
2.     Jarna Petman (former member of the European Committee of Social Rights)
3.     Gerald Dunn (member of the Secretariat of Social Charter)
4.     Giuseppe Palmisano (University of Roma Tre, General Rapporteur of the European Committee of Social Rights)
5.     François Vandamme (former member of the European Committee of Social Rights)
6.     Lorenza Mola (University of Turin)


Here are the participating teams:

    1. Paris-Saclay University, Paris (France)
    2. Eötvös Loránd University (ELTE), Budapest (Hungary)
    3. Vrije University, Brussels (Belgium)
    4. Saint-Louis University, Brussels (Belgium)
    5. Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University, Lyon (France)
    6. Nantes University, Nantes (France)
    7. Aristotle University, Thessaloniki (Greece)
    8. Sorbonne Paris Nord University, Paris (France)
    9. University of Ferrara, Ferrara (Italy)
    10. University of Rouen-Normandy, Rouen (France)
    11. Pantheon-Sorbonne Paris 1 University, Paris (France)
    12. University of Valencia, Valencia (Spain)


Teams are invited to send their questions to the Scientific Committee no later than 31 December 2022 at the following address: Questions and answers will be published here, as well as submitted to participants via email.

Download the answers.


We are pleased to announce the final results of the second edition of the Moot Court Competition on the European Social Charter organised by the Italian section of the Academic Network on the European Social Charter and Social Rights (ANESC). The jury unanimously underlined the high level of the pleadings that took place on 31 March 2023 in the afternoon at the University of Ferrara.

At the end of the pleadings, it was the University Jean Moulin Lyon 3 (France) and the University Saint-Louis-Brussels (Belgium) that faced each other in the grand final.

Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University won the competition. Its team members were: Auriane Bejuit, Louise Le Berre, Nina Nogier.

The runner-up was awarded to the University Saint-Louis-Brussels. Its team members were: Jeannette Kengne Kengne, Delphine Secat, Baptiste Watillon.

Vrije Universiteit Brussel (Belgium) won the prize for the best procedural writing. Its team members were: Marthe Delodder, Chelsea Huygen, Rasmus Van Heddeghem.

The prize for the best litigator of the qualifying hearing was awarded to Alessandro Casanova (University of Ferrara – Italy).

The prize for the best litigator of the competition (the winner) was awarded to Nina Nogier (Jean Moulin University Lyon 3 – France).

The ANESC Coordination Committee and its General Coordinator warmly thank all the participants in the competition for their commitment to this endeavour and congratulate the winners. They welcome the participants’ knowledge of the provisions and procedures of the European Social Charter and the high quality of the oral presentations.

They invite all participants to join the Network, in accordance with article 6, paragraph 2, letter a) of the ANESC Articles of Association.

Let’s promote together social rights in Europe and beyond!