Lyon, 26 March 2024

University Jean Moulin Lyon 3




The third edition of the Moot Court Competition on the European Social Charter will take place at the University Jean Moulin Lyon 3 on 26 March 2024, at the initiative of the French Section of ANESC and it is opened to law students registered in any university from the Members States of the Council of Europe.

This bilingual (French-English) competition is based on a fictitious collective complaint and includes a written phase and an oral phase. Participation in the competition is open to law students registered with a University. By drawing lots, half of the competing teams are given the status of “claimants” and the other half the status of “respondent government ».

The written phase consists of the drafting of a collective complaint (for “applicant” teams) or a memorandum (for “respondent government” teams). The oral phase consists of a mock “hearing” before the European Committee of Social Rights (represented by the juries), within the meaning of Article 7 (4) of the Protocol of 9 November 1995.

The mock case will be communicated to the participating teams by the end of November 2023, together with the exact timeline of the competition and the membership of the Scentific Committe.


9 December 2023 Communication of the Moot case to the universities enrolled in the competition, by the ANESC’s Secretariat

12 December 2023 Designation of the `complainant’ teams and the `respondent government’ teams (by drawing lots – Art. 2.3. of the Rules)

14 January 2024Deadline for submission of questions to the Scientific Committee of the Competition at (max. 2 questions addressed by each team to the SC, if the case, according to Art. 5.4.)

21 January 2024 Sending the answers to the teams by the Scientific Committee (Art. 5.4.)

8 March 2024, h. 23,59 (CET) Deadline for submission of complaints/memorandums at or at (Art. 5.3.)

9-18 March 2024 Evaluation of the written papers + assigning notes by each member of the SC (Art. 5.6.);

18 March 2024 Communication of the papers to the opposite teams by the ANESC’s Secretariat, according to Art. 5.6. of the Rules

26 March The oral phase


Applications should be submitted by 23 November 2023, h. 23,59 (CET), using the form available here


Download the rules here.


The Scientific Committee of the 3rd edition of the Moot Court competition on the European Social Charter.

Bige AÇIMUZ – member of ANESC (Türkiye)
Margarita GALSTYAN – Department of Social Rights (Council of Europe)
Karolina KIRINCIC-ANDRITSOU – Department of Social Rights (Council of Europe)
Cristina SÂMBOAN – General Coordinator of the ANESC (Romania)
George THEODOSIS – member of the European Committee of Social Rights (Greece)
François VANDAMME – former member of the European Committee of Social Rights (Belgium)
Marcin WUJCZYK – former member of the European Committee of Social Rights (Poland)


(in the order of their enrollment)

1. Université de Nantes
2. Université Jean Moulin Lyon 3
3. Vrije Universiteit Brussel
4. Free University of Tbilisi
5. Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
6. ELTE Faculty of Law
7. Charles University, Prague
8. Université de Rouen Normandie
9. UC Louvain Saint-Louis – Bruxelles
10. Université Paris-Saclay
11. Tallinn University of Technology
12. Faculdade de Direito da Universidade Católica Portuguesa do Porto
13. Université Sorbonne Paris Nord


We are pleased to announce the final results of the third edition of the Moot Court Competition on the European Social Charter organised by the French section of the Academic Network on the European Social Charter and Social Rights (ANESC). The jury unanimously underlined the high level of the pleadings that took place on 26 March 2024 at the University Jean Moulin Lyon 3. The final of the competition was held at the Lyon Court of appeal.

At the end of the pleadings, it was the University of Rouen Normandy (France) and the Jean Moulin University Lyon 3 that faced each other in the grand final.

The University of Rouen Normandy (France) won the competition. Its team members were: Johanna BERGTHALER, Prune EL-DABI-BUCAILLE , Margot REBULET.

The runner-up was awarded to the Jean Moulin University Lyon 3. Its team members were: Léa DARRÉ, Alix NUNÈS, Sirine SERVANT.

The prize for the best procedural writing was awarded to UCLouvain Saint-Louis, Bruxelles (Belgium). Its team members were: Isabelle SERBANESCU, Maeva GOLDSTEIN, Babette LÉONARD.

The prize for the best litigator of the competition was awarded to Markéta MACÁKOVÁ, Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic.

The ANESC Coordination Committee and its General Coordinator warmly thank all the participants in the competition for their commitment to this endeavour and congratulate the winners. They welcome the participants’ knowledge of the provisions and procedures of the European Social Charter and the high quality of the oral presentations.

They invite all participants to join the Network, in accordance with article 6, paragraph 2, letter a) of the ANESC Articles of Association.

Let’s promote together social rights in Europe and beyond!